2017 Planting Schedule + Template

I love to organize, especially when it comes to our farm plans.  Excel is my best friend.  Because our family’s food supply is so reliant on our own growing, it’s crucial that we put a lot of thought and care into our plans not only so we can have a successful growing season but also so we can make future plans based on the year’s experiences.

Now that we have our mini-garden layout finalized I thought I’d share a tool I made for keeping track of the season’s planting schedule.  Here’s an image of this year’s:

2017 planting schedule sample.jpg

I’m a very visual person, so I’ve found it helpful to create a schedule like this (instead of a list or calendar) so I can imagine the whole season from start to finish.  In our area, the last frost date in spring will be around April 30th (highlighted in green) and the first fall frost will be around October 15th (highlighted in red).  As you can see, I’ve chosen Sunday as my planting day of the week because it works best around my husband’s schedule.  I used the formula tool in Excel to make it easy to estimate the maturity date for each crop based on the planting date and days to maturity that I input.  There are separate colors for sowing indoors, direct seeding, and transplanting so I can keep track easily.  And finally, you can see my notes on the right about succession rates, harvest notes, and planting directions.

This tool has worked really well for our family for the past two years, so I thought I’d offer a blank template for anyone who’s interested!  Let me know if you check it out!  And as always, feel free to change it to fit your family’s needs.

Click here to download the Visual Planting Schedule template.

Leave a Reply

