My Farmer Bod is MIA

I’ve mentioned before that as the baby’s sleep patterns have become more predictable I’ve been finding some more time for myself. During her first nap I’ve been beginning to recondition my post-cesarean body to summer farming condition. For the past few weeks it has been a mix of gentle body weight work, core strengthening, and LOADS of stretching. I stretch every chance I get!

I came across an article the other day from The Self-Sufficient Life (http://www.theselfsufficientlife.com/paleo-fitness-bend-your-body-into-homestead-shape/) in which the author gives seven exercises that will come in handy for homesteading.  If you’re looking for a good circuit that you can adjust to your own fitness level, the first six are a good mix: squatting, lunging, pushing, pulling, twisting, and bending.  (Note: He mentions push-ups but chest presses and shoulder presses would also be a great way to get those pushing muscles in order.)  His seventh recommendation, accelerations, is a bit much for my body right now, but I’m looking forward to the spring weather when I can pop the baby in her stroller and at least go walking.

I tend to be more in the camp of exercising through practical tasks, but that simply isn’t happening during our zone 5 winter. I think that for now, combining circuits based on the strength exercises with lots of stretching and flexibility work will get me on track.  I’m taking it extra slow and focusing more on eating well and feeling good.

Mamas, I’m wondering what other fitness routines and stretches you found to be the most restorative postpartum.  And farmers, I’m wondering if you have any other exercises you would add to The Self-Sufficient Life list!

Leave a Reply

